Sunday: 11h30, 15h30
Sunday: 11h, 15h
(Português) Sáb 11h com Eng. Jorge de Novais BastosDom 11h e 15h com Arq. João Pardal Monteiro
No reservation required; first-come, first-served
Maximum 20 people per visit
Erected in 1940 as an ephemeral construction under the auspices of the Portuguese World Exhibition, it evoked the country’s maritime exploits. It was built from perishable materials, with a light steel and cement structure over which the sculpted composition was moulded in fibrous gypsum plaster. In 1960, on the occasion of the 500th anniversary of the death of prince Henrique, it was rebuilt using concrete and cut rosal limestone from Leiria, with sculptures made from Sintra limestone. Its terrace boasts an exceptional sweeping vista over the monuments in Belém, an area that was heavily redesigned for the above-mentioned exhibition in 1940.